Don’t make me watch video.

Dear University:

If I have to watch a video to learn about the history and current events of the institution, or some policy within it, I would rather be ignorant.

Dear Independent Software Developer:

If I have to watch a video to find out what your program does, I’m not buying the program.

Dear Tech Blogger:

If I have to watch a video to hear about some neat idea, I’m not interested.

Dear Funny Blogger:


If I have to watch a video to get a joke, I don’t need humor that badly.

Dear Help Writer:

If I have to watch a video to figure out how to do something, I will be cursing your program with bad karma for the entire length of the video.

Video is a slow, inefficient, and tedious medium for the delivery of information, and I’m not the only one who thinks so. Certainly, there are times when it is suitable, but there should always be a non-video option, it should be used as a last resort, and I should know what I am going to get from the video before I even invest the time to click Play.

