A English professor dissects a Wikipedia article in her field and puts it on her website as a resource for students. Not a rant, no blanket condemnation, just a very concrete example of why students should not be citing Wikipedia.

I can’t get involved editing Wikipedia, because I hear it’s such a timesuck, but this strikes me as a valuable use of time. I’ll have to find the right example article, of course.

Hat tip: Ad Nauseum via a comment at Age of Perfection.



From a Chronicle blogger:

That’s why I often require students to compose two versions of one paper, one in low diction and slang, the other in multi-syllabic, Latinate, thesaurus words.

Maybe I’ll mix this with my resolution to demand outlines, and ask for very full outlines in casual talking-to-yourself language.

