Taxes mailed, reimbursements submitted, IRA contribution made (from a hotel, although in my view, fifteen hours before a midnight deadline is not cutting it close at all).

The Economist informed me on the plane that April is National Financial Literary Month, so I’ve been celebrating it by talking about money without even knowing! My recent passion to get organized, by the way, was triggered by the discovery that I had happily flown off to a foreign country and then discovered that I was traveling with an expired credit card and an expired ATM card. AND, the plan for the trip was that I would be the designated banker for my mother and sister (my sister had provided the airline miles and hotel points, I had agreed to supply the cash so we could eat and have fun). A tad problematic. All worked out fine, as I had other cards (even a second ATM card), but very distressing.

Also check out The Economical Academic, focused on talking about money for grad students (hat tip Notes of a Neophyte).

