This is not about air travel.

I remember growing up in Northern California and taking AP history. At one point we took a practice test, which had a question that went something like “while X was doing Y, what was happening in the southwest?”

I don’t remember the choices, but I remember the right answer, which was something about John Fremont.* And I clearly remember my train of thought during the test, which was “well, John Fremont is big in California history, and California isn’t the southwest, so I can eliminate that answer.”

Everyone in my class missed that question. So we went over it in class. And we were all “California isn’t the southwest!” The teacher, who was from back east somewhere, looked totally bewildered.

Anyhow, I was cheered to notice that The Economist did roughly the same thing the other day.

*or possibly Kit Carson.

