In the push for re-usuable grocery bags, there is one constant: the cry of cat-owners saying “but then what do I do about the litter?” Turns out, there are tons of other bags that come into the house that actually are much better for cleaning the litter box, because they don’t have all sorts of holes. Bread bags, tortilla bags (especially the reclosable type), the bags inside cereal boxes (or Cheez-Its, if you’re me), potato chip bags, prepared salad bags, vegetable bags. I once cut the top off those air pillows Amazon sends out (the ones for bigger boxes) and used those. This does require me to have twist-ties, but you know, I’m a packrat. I’ve been stockpiling those for years.

Sometimes I wonder if the garbagemen hate me because my trash is largely full of bags of cat litter.

My cats show a clear preference for one litter box over the other, which at least makes me happy that I ridiculously overpaid for it, because I didn’t want to take the time to go to a second store.

I also travel with this box, which on major road trips, involves toting it in and out of motel rooms twice a day. Yes, there are disposable litterboxes, but you know? the last place I want my cats disturbed by unfamiliarity is around the litterbox in a motel room.

