So, I meant to turn the week in Hawaii with my family into a confab on my future, but you know? You try to ask about your future and people start telling stories about themselves and their work history. Also, I meant to be reading So What Are You Going to Do With That? all week but only got around to it kinda late in the vacation.

Anyhow, we had some handy discussions and I reached some conclusions.

First, I need to get in writing that I have two years here if I want them. Assuming that is the case, then I have a few desires guiding my choices:

While I am totally willing to walk away from the university entirely, I do know the university system and I do care about how higher education works. So university administration is a good fit, and I will try that first.

I don’t know which arena of university administration, and several seem appealing for different reasons (advising, registrar, development, study abroad). So I am looking for positions that will keep my options open.

I do have a very strong preference to stay in the same general geographic region. This is a shift. On finishing my PhD, I was willing to give anywhere a try. Now I’m not feeling so willing.

I will not be applying for teaching jobs this year, unless it’s something out-of-the-ordinary that would involve living in one of the places I study.

I also have a line on a job from a friend, which would be something quite different but attach me to a friend who is GOING PLACES, that I will investigate further.

