Sometimes I answer questions on tech forums for fun.* While browsing the Pages forum (Apple’s word processor), I came across someone asking if he could put music and lyrics into Pages, and then set something up so that he could basically tell Pages “Okay, I want this song in the key of A instead of B, transform all the chords to fit.”

Naturally, someone suggested a music notation program. The original poster replied:

I do have notation programs that can do all of that, but it’s usually a pain in the butt to set up. Pages is so easy to use.

You know why it’s easy to use? Because it has a defined purpose and limited set of features.

Right tool for the right job, people.

*This is a large factor behind my second identity. The last thing I want cluttering my professional google history is me answering a bunch of technical questions.

