As an amateur family historian, I have scoured wills and bills of sale of Southern landed gentry in search of the names of my great-great-grandparents among the fine china and horses. Once you have done that, it is hard to look at the mythologizing of antebellum Southern culture as benign.

From comments on the original post:

You would be hard-pressed, I think, to find a band from California named Lady Internment Camp.

If the Antebellum Fantasy is largely a white women’s thing, maybe the rough equivalent for men is the modern conception of the “Old West”?

And I would not be surprised to find bands out of California named something like Mine Bar Diggings, not at all. I don’t know enough about the Chinese experience in the Old West to determine how akin it was to slavery in degree or scope, though.

