“Stu Dent is not a mind to be passed by.”

Okay.

• • •

Translated Danish transcript lists a bunch of classes, each followed by a number between 75 and 180. Wonder what that means.

• • •

Accomplishments I’m not that impressed by:

  • Yale Alumni Book Award.
  • Outstanding Student in History in 2009

Yeah, basically that’s just telling me you were a really good student. That’s cool, but the letters of recommendation and the GPA speak to that. When it’s all you have to list in the place we give you to discuss extracurriculars? Not impressive.

• • •

The Japanese teacher signed her name in Japanese.

• • •

I’m pretty sure the College Board is using the same printer to report SAT scores, as they did in 1992 when I took them.

• • •

Essay’s good, GPA and SAT great. Can I just give it to him and skip reading the rest?

• • •

“Stu Dent is equal to my two former students who went to Stanford and Wesleyan, and then one went on to get a PhD in English.”

Hate to buy into elitism and all, but that’s a pretty useful statement.

• • •

Ignoring the question we asked hurts you.

Arguing that we asked as a bad question helps you.

• • •

“Dear Admissions Team Representative:”

Really?

• • •

Just gotta say, I’d be feeling happier about your application right now if you’d done the online form instead of the handwritten paper one.

