Both my mother and I hoard glassware.

Why does a single woman need 38 wine/champagne/martini glasses, mostly crystal? I do not know. It was okay when I regularly threw a party, and used the glasses (except for the 4 expensive ones), but I haven’t thrown a party since I moved into the secret garden cottage. (I also have approximately 16 tall drinking glasses and 8 short ones, and probably 15 mugs. When I am being particularly lazy about running the dishwasher, I do use most of the mugs.)

My mother is far worse than I am, though. She also hoards dishes and plates. She is the only person who can unload her dishwasher, because there’s some sort of magical system required to make all the dishes fit in the cabinets. (My sister, who hates clutter, insists Mom is three years away from getting on Hoarders.)

Anyhow, Mom went to an estate sale and bought 26 pieces of Waterford crystal. I started to yell at her for getting more stuff. But then she said it was only $20.

“Well, hell, you can put that in the dishwasher.”

