Re: Katrina Gulliver at Tenured Radical, yadda yadda yadda. There’s discussion there, or check out Not of General Interest, Another Damned Medievalist, and Dr. Crazy for more excellent commentary.

Jonathan Dresner’s comment at Another Damned Medievalist’s:

One of the downsides of the internet, and this goes way back before facebook, is the way in which it collapses your activities – personal, professional, political – into equally visible and interlocking things. Whereas our lives offline are segmented and our identities situational in ways that we rarely question until the boundaries of communities get collapsed somehow.

That exactly explains the main reason why I am pseudonymous. It’s the only way to resist that collapsing, which I see as a perversion of normality.
New Kid on the Hallway, at Dr. Crazy’s place:

I think one of the things that’s at play here is how difficult it is to distinguish “work” from “non-work” in academia. That is, like you, Dr. Crazy, I never wrote in any sustained way about my academic field (teaching, yes, teaching medieval history, sometimes, struggling with research in general, yes, but not actually about the subject of my research). But I wrote a lot about being an academic because I *was* an academic, and being an academic takes up a whole lot of one’s life. It’s not one of those jobs you leave at work when you get home. (Plus, being on the tenure-track is unlike almost any other kind of job.) So I think that there’s one kind of academic-life-blogging that is really life blogging, but because academia TAKES OVER your life, that kind of life blogging entails talking about academia quite a lot. And because it’s about academia, some readers assume it’s also professional blogging, and bring professional expectations to the experience. But such blogging is *not* a professional document.

I think New Kid nailed it. I was trying to figure out how to express that.

